Daniel Kaniewski, Ph.D.

​​Homeland security policy

Homeland security policy organizations

Daniel Kaniewski provides an overview of governmental and non-governmental organizations that develop, implement, and analyze homeland security policies.  

Federal government

National Security Council (NSC)

Assistant to the President for Homeland Security and Counterterrorism 

Though the NSC was established in 1947, its homeland security mission is a more recent development. In the wake of the 9/11 attacks, President George W. Bush established the Office of Homeland Security (OHS) in the Executive Office of the President. Following the establishment of the Department of Homeland Security in 2003, OHS was disestablished. A new organization in the Executive Office of the President, the Homeland Security Council (HSC), assumed the interagency coordination responsibilities of OHS. Upon taking office in 2009, President Barack Obama merged the HSC staff with the NSC staff into the National Security Staff (NSS). In 2014 President Obama renamed the NSS the NSC staff.  The NSC has several directorates that focus on homeland security.

  • ​Resilience directorate
  • Transborder Security directorate

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) 

Secretary of Homeland Security 

Created by the Homeland Security Act of 2002 by combining 22 separate departments and agencies, DHS today employs 240,000 employees. DHS headquarters and many of its components have offices that lead policy efforts.

Department of Defense (DOD)

​Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Global Security


U.S. House of Representatives

U.S. Senate

State government

Local government

Federally Funded Research and Development Centers

Think tanks